PBA News: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach You Must Know


Since the 1993 PBA season, the league has honored the league's best coach with the Baby Dalupan Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Coach of the Year award. Since 1995, the trophy has been known as the Baby Dalupan Trophy in honor of Dalupan, who led the Crispa Redmanizers to their first Grand Slam in 1976 and won 15 PBA titles overall.

This honor is awarded by the PBA Press Corps rather than the league, as is the case with the more typical player honors. EsballPH HaloWin Bet gathered some last decade, some coaches have separated themselves from others and some of them are discussed below. 

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Chot-Reyes

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Chot Reyes (2021)

Chot Reyes was presented with his sixth Virgilio Baby Dalupan trophy during the PBA Press Corps' annual Awards Night, which took place at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center. Chot Reyes was selected by the PBA Press Corps as its Coach of the Year for 2021.

Following his successful comeback to coaching in the PBA after an almost decade-long absence to steer the TNT Tropang Giga to the Philippine Cup championship, Reyes edged out Barangay Ginebra counterpart Tim Cone for the prestigious award. Reyes won the award by guiding the TNT Tropang Giga to victory over Barangay Ginebra. Cone, a four-time award winner, was denied the opportunity to tie Reyes for the most Coach of the Year wins.

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Tim-Cone

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Tim Cone (2020)

There was only one conference in 2020. Cone won an "Outstanding Coach of the Bubble" award, which is a slightly different distinction. The Philippine Basketball Association Press Corps awarded TIM Cone as the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble for his role in guiding Barangay Ginebra to the title of Philippine Cup champion in 2020.

During the awards ceremony that was held at the TV5 Media Center, Cone was presented with the prize. Cone and the Gin Kings won their first all-Filipino title in 13 years by defeating TNT in five games at the sole conference of the 45th season, which was hosted in a bubble in Clark, Pampanga. The conference was held inside a bubble.

The head coach of Barangay Ginebra stated that he shares the honor with his counterpart at Phoenix Super LPG for achieving a "tremendous job" with his squad during the Philippine Cup bubble, during which he guided his side to the semifinals of the competition. That those statements came directly from the person who handed the young coach his first-ever PBA coaching employment gives the statement a great deal of significance.

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Leo-Austria

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Leo Austria (2015 ~ 2019)

Leovino R. Austria, more commonly referred to as Leo Austria, is a Filipino man who formerly competed as a professional basketball player and now serves as the head coach of the San Miguel Beermen. Austria, 64 years old, won the Baby Dalupan PBA Coach of the Year Award on four separate occasions in 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2019.

PBA Coach of the Year was awarded to San Miguel's Leo Austria for the fourth time in the last five seasons. In order to win the highly sought Virgilio Baby Dalupan trophy, presented by the PBA Press Corps, Austria triumphed over Barangay Ginebra mentor Tim Cone.

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Chito-Victolero

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Chito Victolero (2018)

During the celebration of the 25th anniversary of the PBA Press Corps' Annual Awards Night, which took place at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center, the PBA Press Corps honored a new Coach of the Year winner. Almost immediately after being presented with the honor, Victolero praised several other coaches in the PBA.

After leading Magnolia to the Governors' Cup title, Victolero was awarded the prestigious prize, beating out Cone and Austria in the process. It was the first PBA title for the Purefoods franchise since Tim Cone left the team or since they won the Governors' Cup in 2014, which was the year the team won the rare Grand Slam. Governor Rene Pardo of the Magnolia team said that the organization is delighted with Victolero's work as a coach since he took over in 2017.

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Yeng-Guiao

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Yeng Guiao(2012)

Yeng Guiao appreciated a rare solo distinction despite the fact that he continually preached the importance of team play as Rain or Shine was on its way to winning a groundbreaking title. The esteemed Coach of the Year title has been bestowed upon Guiao for the second time in his professional career. Guiao triumphed over a stellar field of competitors, which included Chot Reyes of Talk 'N Text, who had previously won the award five times, and Grand Slam mentor Tim Cone of B-Meg.

Throughout the season, both Reyes and Cone put themselves in a position to be considered for the role of piloting their respective teams to the championship. Cone led the Llamados to the Commissioner's Cup crown by leading them to victory over the Tropang Texters in a tense Game Seven that went into overtime. Talk 'N Text became the first team in the last 27 years to win the Philippine Cup title in back-to-back fashion. This accomplishment was accomplished under the leadership of Reyes.

PBA Today: Top 6 Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach Must Know-Luigi-Trillo

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: Luigi Trillo(2013)

In 2013, At the Wack Wack Golf Club, the PBA Press Corps presented Alaska head coach Luigi Trillo with the Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year award. This accolade was the cherry on top of a spectacular year for Trillo. PBA sportswriters voted for Trillo after he led the Aces to victory in the Commissioner's Cup.

He was chosen against Norman Black, who led Talk 'N Text to victory in the Philippine Cup, and Tim Cone, who won his 15th title with the San Mig Coffee Mixers in the Governors' Cup.

Baby Dalupan Award PBA Coach of the Year: EsballPH HaloWin Bet Conclusion 

Most coaches on this list have been honored with many instances of the Baby Dalupan PBA Coach of the Year Award throughout their careers. Luigi Trillo is now on the list of successful coaches in the league. He is actively looking for additional victories to add to his credential. As was said earlier, Leo Austria dominated the league space for the preceding ten years by winning more awards than any other rival. EsballPH HaloWin Bet anticipates a heightened level of competition in the league due to Chot Reyes's return.

Read more hot topics about PBA

Top PBA Online Betting Site in the Philippines: EsballPH HaloWin Bet

If you want to make real money from PBA betting, join EsballPH HaloWin Bet, one of the most reliable online PBA betting sites in the Philippines. On EsballPH HaloWin Bet you can find a variety of sports betting. We select only legit and reliable online PBA betting sites that are 100% sure of their honesty and safety, what's more, you can bet on sports weekly to win bonuses up to ₱1100 now!

Each PBA bet has its odds, profit will vary too. Please always remember: Higher odds come with higher risk. Go forward with EsballPH HaloWin Bet in the Philippines to win ₱1100!

new member register free 100 casino philippines New Member Register Free 200 Sign Up Bonus