PBA All Star Voting, Ginebra players Dominating the charts


In this blog, we will discuss the voting system of PBA for the selection of a squad of two teams, and their coaches, that will participate in the PBA All Star game, alongside the top choices of the people so far and the voting period for this All star game.

The Philippines Basketball Association (PBA) hosts a friendly All Star game every year and this game is played between two sides that comprise the top players of the league. These 24 players are selected through a poll system where fans of the PBA choose their favorite players through the PBA All Star Voting system, which is officiated on the official website or mobile application of the Philippines Basketball Association.

Almost every player that participates in the PBA League is available in the pool system and the voting is done online to choose the top players that will be later divided into two teams.

PBA All Star Voting, Ginebra players Dominating the charts

Top Picks in the PBA All Star Voting So Far

Analyzing the current performances of the players in the ongoing PBA competitions, Ginebra veteran Japeth Aguilar leads the All-Star voting with an impressive 24,372 votes. Following closely are former PBA MVP Scottie Thompson with 17,398 votes, former Best Player of the Conference Christian Standhardinger at third with 15,400, the returning LA Tenorio at fourth with 15,390, and the dynamic Jamie Malonzo at fifth with 15,014 votes.

The Top 24 players with the most votes, regardless of their position, will be determined by the PBA ALL STAR Voting that is currently going on and one can cast his vote for his favorite player. The remaining spots from 25 to 28 will be decided by PBA coaches and the media. It's an exciting lineup for the All-Star selections.

Here are the rest of the Top 24 vote-getters so far:

  • 6. June Mar Fajardo
  • 7. Maverick Ahanmisi
  • 8. Stanley Pingle
  • 9. CJ Perez
  • 10. Arvin Tolentino
  • 11. Calvin Abueva
  • 12. Eric Camson
  • 13. Calvin Oftana
  • 14. Chris Newsome
  • 15. Paul Lee
  • 16. Nards Pinto
  • 17. James Yap
  • 18. Jayson Castro
  • 19. Terrence Romeo
  • 20. Mark Barroca
  • 21. Jeremiah Gray
  • 22. Von Pessumal
  • 23. Marcio Lassiter
  • 24. Jio Jalalon

Besides this voting for all-star games, online voting for Rookies Sophomores Junior game is also live on the PBA official website. However, as far as the results are concerned, In the initial ballot for the Rookies-Sophomores-Juniors game, Jamie Malonzo, Alvin Oftana, Justin Gray, Justin Arana, and Tyler Tio are leading the pack.

PBA All Star Voting, Ginebra players Dominating the charts

Time Duration for Voting

There is a certain time limit in which basketball fans can post their votes for their favorite players to be a part of this All-star game. So, for an all-star in 2024, the voting time started from December 3, 2023. The PBA All Star voting, conducted both online and in-venue, will continue until February 7, 2024. Fans have the opportunity to cast their votes and contribute to the selection of players for the exciting match.

The upcoming All-Star games are scheduled to take place in Bacolod next year, and it is a must that these games will be no less than thrilling contests and fulfilling the excitement of all the fans looking forward to these games.

Significance of the All-Star Game:

The all-star game holds great significance in the Philipines basketball scenario as the fans get to see the top players from different teams play alongside each other in a highly decorated game of the year.

The players and coaches of the teams participating in the all-star game are chosen on the basis of voting that is done online and in the venue. Every basketball fan especially in the Philippines looks forward to their exciting match.

Result of Previous All Star Games

Here are the results of the last five PBA All-Star games alongside the venue details, winning teams, their final scorecards, and most valuable players in that particular all-star game.

Year Winning team Losing team Score Host venue MVP (PBA team) Host city
2016 North All-Stars South All-Stars 154–151 Smart Araneta Coliseum (4) Alex Cabagnot (San Miguel) Quezon City
2017 PBA Mindanao All-Stars Gilas Pilipinas 114–114 Xavier University Gym (2) Troy Rosario (TNT) and Matthew Wright (Phoenix) Cagayan de Oro
Gilas Pilipinas PBA Luzon All-Stars 122–111 Quezon Convention Center Matthew Wright (2) (Phoenix) Lucena
Gilas Pilipinas PBA Visayas All-Stars 125–112 Hoops Dome Terrence Romeo (2) (GlobalPort) Lapu-Lapu City
2018 PBA Mindanao All-Stars Smart All-Stars 144–130 Davao del Sur Coliseum (2) Baser Amer (Meralco) Digos
Smart All-Stars PBA Luzon All-Stars 152–149 Batangas City Sports Coliseum Terrence Romeo (3) (TNT) Batangas City
PBA Visayas All-Stars Smart All-Stars 157–141 University of San Agustin Gym (2) Jeff Chan (2) (Phoenix) Iloilo City
2019 North All-Stars South All-Stars 185–170 Calasiao Sports Complex Arwind Santos (2) (San Miguel)
Japeth Aguilar (Barangay Ginebra) (co-winners)
2020–2022 COVID-19 pandemic (No game was scheduled) -
2023 Team Japeth Team Scottie 140–136 City of Passi Arena Paul Lee (Magnolia) Passi